Project Leader Senior Writer & Researcher Website Designer
  • Professor Heather Douglas
    Melbourne Law School
    The University of Melbourne
  • Kate Chapple 2015-17, 2019
  • Hannah Ehler 2020-23
  • Stephen Meadowcroft
    2015-19, 2021-23
  • Dean Wilson 2020
Funding Partners
  • The Attorney-General’s Department, (Commonwealth) co-funds this Bench Book with states and territories.
  • Australasian Institute of Judicial Administration,
    in particular Professor Greg Reinhardt and Alison MacDonald
Research Assistants (2015–2023)
  • Hannah Anderson
  • Lyndal Bubke
  • Marissa Carroll
  • Samara Cassar
  • Jessica Downing-Ide
  • Emma Fell
  • Renita Fernadez
  • Freya Hallahan
  • Sophie Hondros
  • Balawyn Jones
  • Isabelle Keen
  • Sarah Kendall
  • Deylan Kilic-Aidani
  • Rebekkah Markey-Towler
  • Ciara Lavender
  • Elissa Morcombe
  • Jennifer Ngo
  • Manasa Pappu
  • Sophie Philip
  • Imogen Reithmuller
  • Emily Rudz
  • Louise Scarce
  • Dr Gabrielle Simm
  • Madeleine Skeen
  • India Taylor
  • Kate Thomas
  • Daniel Trigger
  • Juliet Walker
  • Gareth Ward
  • Jasmine Zamprogno
Judicial Reference Group (2015-2019)
  • Family Court of Australia: Justice Hilary Hannam
  • Federal Circuit Court of Australia: Judge Joe Harman
  • Northern Territory: Local Court Chief Judge Elizabeth Morris
  • Local Court Judge Sarah McNamara
  • NSW: Deputy Chief Magistrate Jane Mottley
  • Queensland: Deputy Chief Magistrate Leanne O’Shea
  • South Australia: Magistrate Jay McGrath, Magistrate Lynette Duncan
  • Tasmania: Magistrate Simon Brown
  • Victoria: Ms Cathy Lamble, Former Magistrate of Victoria, Magistrate Francis Zemljak
  • Western Australia: Magistrate Deen Potter
AIJA Advisory Committee for Consultation Project (2021-2022)
AIHA’s expertise on the NDFVBB has been informed by the AIJA’s Advisory Committee for Consultation Project (2021-2022), which included:
  • Justice Murray Aldridge, Federal Circuit and Family Court of Australia, Division 1
  • Justice Judy Ryan, Family Court of Australia (ret.)
  • Justice Helen Wood, Supreme Court of Tasmania
  • Magistrate Pauline Spencer, Magistrates Court of Victoria
Thanks also to all judicial officer and stakeholder confidential contributors to the research informing the NDFVBB coercive control report.

Victim experiences

Most of the victim experiences were prepared with assistance from an Australian Research Council Future Fellowship [Heather Douglas: FT 140100796]. We thank those who participated for their willingness to share their stories. The remaining victim experiences are based on case studies provided by Caxton Legal Service and Legal Aid (NSW).